Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Aloha from Australia!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Eynowd
Lokahi

Australia
181 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2014 :  2:08:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all :)

I'm Geoff, from Canberra, Australia's capital city :)

I'm new to both guitar playing (I only started learning in March this year) and ki ho'alu, which I only learned about a month or so back after listening to a couple of Jim "Kimo" West's albums. I've fallen in love with the gentle style, and feel it's a perfect thing for me to learn.

Apart from transiting through Honolulu International Airport on the way to and from North America in 1994, I'm sad to say I've never been to the islands :( I do find myself strangely attracted there though and the ki ho'alu is a wonderful reminder of the Hawaiian philosophy I studied for a while in the mid-90s, and sadly let fall by the wayside after life got in the way. Visiting Hawaii properly is definitely something that's on my bucket list.

My copy of Ozzie's book arrived from Amazon yesterday, so I've retuned my guitar and begun to practice the first piece. I've got an awfully long way to go, but I definitely think it's a step in the right direction :)

Anyway, thanks for having me here :)
cheers
Geoff

Geoff - g'day from Canberra, Australia.

salmonella
Lokahi

240 Posts

Posted - 09/22/2014 :  3:06:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Geoff
Most of us have been right where you are. Well, not in Canberra, but Slack Key Wise.
(I was in much of Australia including Canberra in 1990 but sadly have not been back).
Ozzie's book is a great place to start.