Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Talk Story
 Learning Hawaiian
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

akinoguy
Aloha

USA
19 Posts

Posted - 10/12/2017 :  3:49:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Playing slack key makes me want to learn the song lyrics, and so I have been learning Hawaiian for a few years now for better appreciation. But I donʻt live in Hawaiʻi, and my effort in finding study buddies did not bear out. Studying Hawaiian while not in Hawaiʻi seems as lonely of a pursuit than studying slack key. Thankfully, there is the internet and I am slowly learning it starting with an introductory distant learnning course from Kamehameha High Schools. For those that are interested in studying Hawaiian on their own, I found some useful free and legit online sources:

www.wehewehe.org - Comprehensive online dictionary from UH

www.ulukau.org - Nice online library of Hawaiian language texts, also from UH

www.oiwi.tv - TV station that streams sometimes videos in Hawaiian language, and also has a 13-video clip series on Hawaiian language basics

www.trussel2.com/haw/kuk/hsa.htm - An archive of the Hawaiian language articles that are printed in the Honolulu Staradvertiser every weekend.

I made a collection of online flash cards on quizlet.com that I used for study. If someone else wants to use them, just send me an email address and I can share that collection.

If anyone else knows of a good resource, please share..

Earl
`Olu`olu

USA
502 Posts

Posted - 10/12/2017 :  5:27:49 PM  Show Profile  Visit Earl's Homepage  Reply with Quote