Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Steel Guitar
 Questions about Ric Fry Pan
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Julie H
Ha`aha`a

USA
1206 Posts

Posted - 01/14/2008 :  9:58:40 PM  Show Profile
So now I have this gorgeous Fry Pan. Now what?

1. One of the tuners is busted, does anyone know where I can get a vintage 1935 or so tuner? I've checked eBay without any luck...

2. The strings are really old. I want to bring it to a shop to get some help buying the right strings. Since it is a long scale, does it need different strings than those for a short scale? I know, dumb question, but I'm new at this.

3. I would like an expert to check it out, but don't want to leave it at any shop. Is it kosher to stand there and watch the person go over it? (I suppose I am getting paranoid about this thing.)

4. I contacted Elderly Instruments to get an on-line kind of appraisal, I read somewhere that they would do that, but I've had no response from them. Where do I go next?

Thanks for any hints.

Julie

hwnmusiclives
`Olu`olu

USA
580 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2008 :  02:14:14 AM  Show Profile  Visit hwnmusiclives's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by Julie H

So now I have this gorgeous Fry Pan. Now what?

1. One of the tuners is busted, does anyone know where I can get a vintage 1935 or so tuner? I've checked eBay without any luck...
Not easily. But there are lots of players/collectors who have spare parts around and specialize in just such repairs. But we're talking about this in the wrong forum. May I have your permission to cross-post this over at the Hawaiian Steel Guitar Association (HSGA)?