Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Steel Guitar
 Best steel guitar
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

KäneKïHö`alu
Akahai

64 Posts

Posted - 03/07/2008 :  1:57:33 PM  Show Profile  Send KäneKïHö`alu an AOL message
Aloha kākou,

I've been playing slack key for several years now and ʻukulele for even longer. Now I really want to get into acoustic Hawaiian steel guitar. I was wondering if any of you experienced steel players could give me recommendations on what kind of guitar to get. I've been looking at three types: a Gold Tone Weissenborn, a regular Dobro (the kind that Barney Isaacs plays on the album "Hawaiian Touch,") and a tricone (used by Bob Brozman in his albums with Led and Cyril.) I know all three have different sounds. Also, is there anything that you can do with an acoustic that you can't do with an electric or vice versa? Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated. Mahalo nui loa!

E mālama pono a e hoʻomaha ma ka maluhia o ke Akua,

Matt

Edited by - KäneKïHö`alu on 03/07/2008 2:01:49 PM

Konabob
`Olu`olu

USA
928 Posts

Posted - 03/08/2008 :  07:00:56 AM  Show Profile  Visit Konabob's Homepage  Send Konabob an AOL message
You know Matt,
Since they all have different sound characteristics, you can choose by the kind of music that appeals to you... or you can just go looking and see what comes your way.