Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Aloha From Maui
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

mauibuilt75
Aloha

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 09/09/2008 :  08:11:40 AM  Show Profile
Aloha everyone. My name is Josh Sumibcay. (Su-mib-kai) That's how you pronounce my last name. My grandfather was Filipino, my grandmother was Hawaiian. her last name was Luna. My mothers side is Haole. I live on the beautiful island of Maui, on the west side in Lahaina. I play music for a living at the Royal Lahaina Resort and also the Ka'anapali Beach Resort.

Music has always been my passion. I grew up listening to music, playing music and even learned to read and write music. After I graduated high school, I went to the mainland for college. I forgot how to read and write music, cause I wasn't doing any of that there. It's all by ear and from the heart now, and actually, I think it sounds better coming from the heart. After I came back from the mainland, I then started working at a Luau (Old Lahaina Luau). It was there the fire was ignited my passion for music once again. I had the urge to play music, and ALOT of it. So my brother set me up with an audition for a production company for a lounge gig. I didn't think I was good enough for something like this, but I went anyway. I got the gig, and I was amazed they actually liked me. It all started there as a 'job'. The only thing, it never felt like a job, cause it was still my passion. I looked forward to going into work everyday. and 12 years later, I still do.