Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Aloha from Washington State
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

JonThysell
Aloha

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 10/16/2016 :  08:25:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit JonThysell's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Aloha!

My name is Jon, and I'm a hapa-haole living up in Washington, where I work as a software engineer for Microsoft.

My mother was a hula dancer and eventually a kumu with her own halau, so I've been surrounded by Hawaiian music and culture my entire life. However it wasn't until college that my grandmother bought me my first ukulele and I tried to learn how to play.

Unfortunately it didn't last, (the group I joined was very "sink or swim" and I had no musical education) and I ended up putting down the instrument for a good ten years before picking it up again. I took my girlfriend (now wife) to Hawai'i and she was the one who encouraged me to pick it back up.

I've been playing ukulele for four years now, in a variety of genres and styles, bought and sold dozens of ukuleles, and have even done a few gigs at nursing homes and street fairs.

The last two years however, I've drifted more and more back to just playing the Hawaiian music I love. These days I almost entirely play in DGBd tuning on a custom koa/spruce baritone I rescued. I've mostly been following Mark Nelson's book (I even got to do some workshops with him) and have about ten songs in my repertoire that I can play from memory.