Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Greetings from Queens, NYC!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

12toneman
Akahai

USA
97 Posts

Posted - 04/21/2017 :  3:15:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Aloha, Patchers! Glad to be aboard here on TP and looking forward to picking your brains and sharing some good music with you folks.

42-year-old father of a 9-month-old here. Living in Queens, working in Manhattan.

Although I'm pretty new to slack key, it was love from the first time I heard it and I have been doing all I can to soak up the music remotely from NYC. Currently, I'm making my way through Ozzie's book, stealing licks from YouTube from cats like Led and Bradda Duke to incorporate into improvs, and trying to learn more tunes. My thumb isn't quite there yet, but we're getting it.

My exposure to slack key has so far come from YouTube (TP members Fran and Duke top of the list), my Raymond Kane pandora station, and a couple of compilation CDs. But I'm very excited to learn more about this music, to get better at it, and to have a good time with it.

Fran Guidry
Ha`aha`a

USA
1573 Posts

Posted - 04/22/2017 :  08:52:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit Fran Guidry's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Working through the Ozzie book will certainly give you a firm foundation. The next step bookwise might be Mark Hanson "Masters of Hawaiian Slack Key." Or if you prefer visuals, either Ozzie's second DVD or Led's video with Bob Brozman. Then get Ray Kane's DVD http://caseextreme.com/prod_details.php?pid=148 - no tab but it's a joy watching Uncle Ray do Uncle Ray! And meanwhile check Harry Koizimi on YouTube.

Fran