Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Aloha from the Frozen North!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Larry Miller
Akahai

USA
65 Posts

Posted - 01/09/2005 :  08:25:48 AM  Show Profile
Hi all!

I was born in 1940 and raised in California. My dad had been stationed in the islands before the war, and we finally got a chance to move to Hilo back in '55. I had already learned to play the uke. When I took up the guitar, I learned slack key first, from my new friends and from records. Mostly just simple stuff in open G.

I graduated from Hilo high in '58 and after a brief stint in the USN, I returned to the islands- my family had moved to the windward side of Oahu, and I lived there between 61 and 63, then down in Waikiki till 64.

I had become a folky, and was playing guitar and 5 string banjo. My first wife and I and a friend formed a trio called "We Three" and we played regularly at a pizza joint named Humbums, and at Lucky Luck's night club.

The best thing that happened to during those years was that I hung out at Honey's in Kaneohe, when Sonny and Gabby were playing in Don Ho's band. I not only got to sit in the audience and watch the masters at work, I got to know them and learned a few tricks first hand.

So the question (on another thread): can a "coast haole" like me learn to play with authentic feeling? I certainly hope so. I can play a lot of Leonard Kwan's stuff, some of Sonny (except Whee ha!) and even know Gabby's Hiilawe tuning. I also took Sonny's advice and have tried to come up with some original stuff too.