Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Steel Guitar
 Eminor in taropatch tuning
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rclink
Aloha

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2008 :  09:01:59 AM  Show Profile  Visit rclink's Homepage  Send rclink a Yahoo! Message
Hey bruddah

Trying to transcribe a tune from standard tuning to taropatch and can't figure out a E minor
chord? I am new to this tuning and it's probably simple, can you help?

Clink

rendesvous1840
Ha`aha`a

USA
1055 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2008 :  10:24:33 AM  Show Profile
Hold the 1st, 4th, and 6th strings at the second fret, and leave the other strings open. If that doesn't allow you to reach the melody notes you need, try 2nd string at the 8th fret, 1st,3rd & 4th strings at the ninth fret, 5th string can be left open or not played. 6th string is not played in this form.
Paul

"A master banjo player isn't the person who can pick the most notes.It's the person who can touch the most hearts." Patrick Costello
Go to Top of Page

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA
1628 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2008 :  5:06:45 PM  Show Profile  Visit Mark's Homepage
The notes in an E minor chord are: E-G-B. The B is superfluous since it doesn't convey any harmony info, so all you need is E-G (Steel players leave out chord tones all the time.)

That oughta to give you quite a few choices.
Go to Top of Page

Lawrence
Ha`aha`a

USA
1597 Posts

Posted - 05/05/2008 :  07:01:48 AM  Show Profile
Just go to this site:

http://www.looknohands.com/chordhouse/guitar/index_rb.html