Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 lap steel/slide tone bar
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Darin
Lokahi

USA
294 Posts

Posted - 05/07/2009 :  10:44:45 AM  Show Profile  Visit Darin's Homepage
I'm a total novice at slide techniques. Anyone got suggestions for which slide/tone bar works the best? Full disclosure, I'd be using it on a regular guitar without any nut extender attempting to mimic a Hawaiian lap steel. Thanks for the help!

Darin
http://www.hawaiiguitar.com/

rendesvous1840
Ha`aha`a

USA
1055 Posts

Posted - 05/07/2009 :  1:54:04 PM  Show Profile
There was a thread about tone bars some time ago under Hawaiian Steel Guitar. You could search the archives for it. I believe the general concensus was that the bullet bars are best. I have a bullet and a flat bar, the flat seems easier for me to control and hang onto. But I don't have enough experience to claim any knowledge. I spend too much time with slack key, banjo, and dulcimer to put in the time on steel.
I don't know if the normally low action of a standard guitar will be conducive to steel playing. You may get a lot of rattles and buzzes. Hang in there a bit, and some folks with real knowledge will chime in here. Meanwhile, I'll look for that old thread.
Paul

"A master banjo player isn't the person who can pick the most notes.It's the person who can touch the most hearts." Patrick Costello
Go to Top of Page

Darin
Lokahi

USA
294 Posts

Posted - 05/07/2009 :  3:41:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit Darin's Homepage
Thanks Patrick! Found it.

http://www.taropatch.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6653&SearchTerms=lap,steel

Darin
Go to Top of Page

Trev
Lokahi