Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Steel Guitar
 Tone bar
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

RWD
`Olu`olu

USA
850 Posts

Posted - 04/06/2008 :  03:39:43 AM  Show Profile
I have a single cone resonator and a nut extension but not a slide bar yet. I have some experience using a round bullet on electric pedal steel.

The ergo-slides (flanged) look interesting but I was wondering if the design makes them harder to set for angled bar position.

I searched briefly and it seems that the Dunlop JB or the Broz is popular. Is 5-6 oz the popular weight for acoustic Hawaiian slide?

Bob

Konabob
`Olu`olu

USA
928 Posts

Posted - 04/06/2008 :  06:53:57 AM  Show Profile  Visit Konabob's Homepage  Send Konabob an AOL message
Ever since Ken Emerson lost control of his round bar, and dropped the sharp end on my weissenborn-again, I have been using a Shubb SP2 ( http://www.shubb.com/sp/index.html ).
Traditional Hawaiian Bullet people alway raise a fuss, but they can't argue with the fact that it sounds great, is easy to hold, and the curved tip gives it most of the advantages of the bullet.

I have one of Bob's Brozophonics, which is a really nice bullet, too, and I use it from time to time, but the Shubb is still my bar of choice in the heat of battle.
Aloha,
-Konabob

Konabob's Walkingbass - http://www.konawalkingbass.com
Taropatch Steel - http://www.konaweb.com/konabob/
YouTube - http://www.youtube.com/results?search_type=&search_query=Konabob2+Walkingbass
Go to Top of Page

slipry1
Ha`aha`a

USA
1511 Posts

Posted - 04/07/2008 :  05:17:01 AM  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by Konabob