Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 north shore to socal
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

slackkeymom
Aloha

6 Posts

Posted - 04/29/2009 :  4:34:14 PM  Show Profile
Aloha, I started playing slack key guitar when I was pregnant. I had been playing guitar for about 12 years and fell in love with slack key when I went to festival in Waimea on the the big island. The guitars were singing like I had never heard before and I wanted to learn to make that kind of music. I never had enough patience to sit down and learn until I was pregnant and wanted my daughter to hear the soothing melodies and rhythmic base notes as the guitar lay on my big belly. I thought it would make by daughter clam and peaceful. I now have a really wild, rough and tough 2 year old girl. She has been coming to watch me play at open mic's on oahu and california. I'm still new to the art form, but trying to get past my fears and share the music.

Kendyl

sirduke58
`Olu`olu

USA
993 Posts

Posted - 04/29/2009 :  4:52:25 PM  Show Profile
Hey Kendyl

Welcome to the 'Patch. I've seen a couple of your videos on YouTube "You go girl!!!" Wanted to let you know that Lanet Abrigo holds a monthly kanikapila at Pizza Bob's in Haleiwa,isn't that where you're at? Anyway check out the Kanikapila Forum for updates on the next one. Good way to meet other Taropatchers with music as a bonus.

Aloha
Bruddah Duke

Hoof Hearted?...Was it you Stu Pedaso?
Go to Top of Page

Mika ele
Ha`aha`a

USA
1491 Posts

Posted - 04/29/2009 :  5:01:41 PM  Show Profile
We have been having fun in SoCal with Kendyl visiting and playing for our weekly Open Mic over the last four weeks.