Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Recording Techniques, Part 1 - Signal Path
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

`Ilio Nui
`Olu`olu

USA
826 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2004 :  11:59:59 AM  Show Profile
TaroPatch Ohana,

I’ve been a studio rat since the late ‘60s. I’m a certified Recording Engineer. Although I no longer try to make a “living” in the studio, I still take on private projects and concert sound. If it’s a type of music or an instrument, I’ve probably recorded it. If its piece of studio gear, I’ve probably used it or something close. Over many years I’ve been fortunate to amass some high-end gear and recording equipment. But, guess what? Some of the best recordings I’ve ever done or heard were done on some pretty lousy equipment. Why? Attention to details and utilizing what you have to the best it can be.

Of all the acoustic instruments out there I think the acoustic guitar is the hardest to record well. Violins, Cellos, Acoustic Bass, etc., are a piece of cake compared to the guitar.