Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 strumming a uke
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bijou
Akahai

USA
51 Posts

Posted - 05/06/2009 :  12:50:02 PM  Show Profile
I am just learning uke. I would like to find a teaching video that shows and teaches the various strums. Right now I am just using my finger and there is absolutley no rhymthic sound to the various sounds. I can do a search on line but there may just be someone in the patch that has some knowledge of a good DVD. I can make a fool of myself in the comfort of my own home!

Thanks
Judy

Judy

Mika ele
Ha`aha`a

USA
1491 Posts

Posted - 05/06/2009 :  3:29:45 PM  Show Profile
One of Jake Shimabukuro's music DVDs has a really neat "extra" where he goes over the most common strumming techniques from one finger, all the way up to all five fingers back and forth real real fast. Most of us just use the pointer finger and move it up and down. For fancy strumming we rotate the wrist to make the one finger brush the strings up and down faster -- usually at the end of a song.

Stick with one finger for now (no thumb) and concentrate on changing the chords with the other hand. All the strumming hand has to do is keep time. Once you can get that down (think, pat tummy and rub head with the other hand) then you can think about two-finger syncopated strums and beyond. -- Watch jake and you will know what I mean.

E nana, e ho'olohe. E pa'a ka waha, e hana ka lima.
Go to Top of Page

Retro
Ahonui

USA
2368 Posts

Posted - 05/06/2009 :  7:35:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit Retro's Homepage
Hey Judy - just videotape noeau!