Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Talk Story
 To perform or not to perform?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Eynowd
Lokahi

Australia
181 Posts

Posted - 01/06/2016 :  5:45:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To paraphrase the Bard, that is the question...

I'm having a moment of self-doubt right now. Any advice

When I started playing guitar a couple of years ago, I really only ever intended to do it purely for my own enjoyment; I had no intention of ever performing. Truth be told, I didn't think I'd ever be good enough. Turns out I was quite mistaken in that opinion, and have surprised a lot of people (especially me!) with how quickly I've come along.

In standard tuning, I find the thing that works best for me is to focus more on learning to play the chords and changing between them. I often find myself just mucking around with different chord progressions and strumming patterns, rather than learning specific songs. Because of that, I'm finding I'm getting a much better handle on playing better, so when I do get together with other people to play, I can pick up songs reasonably quickly (albeit just strumming the chords).

With slack key, I've been working my way through Ozzie's book for a year and a bit now, and - if I'm by myself - I can play five of the six taropatch tunes reasonably well ('Awiwi never clicked for me, so I'll need to go back and tackle it again at some point). I still make plenty of mistakes, especially if my mind wanders while I'm playing (which is often, sadly).